Badminton Asia Technical Committee Apologises To PV Sindhu For ‘Human Error’

Badminton Asia Technical Committee Apologises To PV Sindhu For ‘Human Error’

Badminton Asia Technical Committee Chairman Che Shen Chen has apologized to two-time Olympic medalist PV Sindhu for a “human error” made by the referee during the women’s singles semifinal match at the Badminton Asia Championships in April. Sindhu was crying after an “unfair” call from the umpires in the middle of her semi-final match against Japan’s Akane Yamaguchi, who lost three games and eventually signed out with a bronze medal. He was second in the continental championship.

“Unfortunately, there is no correction at the moment. However, we have taken necessary steps to avoid a recurrence of this human error,” the official said in a letter to Sindhu.

“We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. We believe this is part of the game and is accepted.” The incident happened when Sindhu was leading 14-11 in the second game after winning the first game when the umpire fined him one point for taking too much time to serve between the points.

Sindhu, who turned 27 on Tuesday, lost her momentum after the incident and lost 21-13 19-21 16-21.

The Indian was seen arguing with the chief referee when the chair umpire asked him to hand over the shuttle to Yamaguchi, but it all fell on deaf ears.

“The umpire told me that you are taking a lot of time but the opponent was not ready at that time. But the umpire suddenly gave him a point and it was really unfair. I think it was one of the reasons for my losing,” Sindhu said. Said

“I mean, I have a feeling because at the time it was 14-11 and could have been 15-11 but instead, it went 14-12 and it took points in a row. And I think it’s very different. It was fair. Maybe I would have won. I played in the match and in the final. ” Was

Sindhu’s father PV Ramana expressed hope that such incidents would not happen in the future.

Promoted.

He told PTI, “I am glad he admitted the mistake. I can humbly request that if such a situation arises again, the referee should take some time and look at the recording.” “The videos should be reviewed and then a proper decision should be made,” he told PTI.

Sindhu is currently participating in the Malaysia Masters Super 500 tournament in Kuala Lumpur.

Topics covered in this article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.