Badminton World Number One Viktor Axelsen Into Indonesia Masters Final

Badminton World Number One Viktor Axelsen Into Indonesia Masters Final

Badminton world number one Victor Axelsson defeated Indonesia’s Anthony Senisoka Gunting on Saturday to advance to the final of the Indonesian Masters. The Danish player defeated domestic favorite Genting 21-15, 21-15 in a 48-minute match at Jakarta’s Astura Senian Sports Ground.

“It’s always really, really hard to beat Ginting on the ground for hours. But I managed to keep my game plan in the most important parts of the game,” Axelson told reporters.

In the final, Axelsson will face Chu Tian Chen of Chinese Taipei, who defeated Iron Can Yu of Singapore 21-16, 8-21, 21-19 after a tough contest.

In the women’s singles, Tokyo Olympic gold medalist Chen Yufei defeated Bing Jiao 21-17, 21-14 to advance to the final.

Chen will face Thailand’s Ratchanok Antanan, who defeated non-seeded rival Han Yu 13-21, 21-14, 21-18.

Meanwhile, hometown heroes Marcus Fernandez Gaddon and Kevin Sanjaya Sokamoljo lost 21-17, 21-10 to unseeded pair of Liang Wei Kang and Wang Chang and were eliminated from the tournament.

The Chinese pair will face Indonesia’s Fajr Al-Fian and Mohammad Ryan Ordinto, who beat China’s Hee Ting and Xiao Haodong 21-17, 21-17.

In the mixed doubles, the French pair of Thom Geckel and Delphine Delro made it to their first Indonesian Masters final, beating Thailand’s Sopak Jomkoh and Supisara Pyosampran 22-20, 21-12.

“We’re really happy and excited for tomorrow,” Delro said.

In the final, the pair will face world number two Zheng CV and Huang Ya Keung.

In the semi-finals, Zheng and Huang defeated Seo Seung Jae and Chae Yu Jung of South Korea 19-21, 21-14, 21-12 to advance to the final.

In the women’s doubles final, world number one Chen Qingchen and Jia Yi Fan will take on Indonesia’s top seed Apriani Rahiyo and Siti Fadia Silva Ramadhanti.

Chen and Jia defeated South Korea’s Jeong Na Aeon and Kim Hae Jeong 21-12, 21-13, while Rahiyo and Ramdhanti defeated Malaysia’s Tan Perli and Thena Murali Dharan 21-23, 21-14. Defeated 21-14.


Sunday’s final will be after the Indonesian Open, which is scheduled for June 14-19.

(This story has not been edited by NDTV staff and is automatically generated from a syndicated feed.)

Topics covered in this article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.