Hardik Pandya To Lead India In Ireland T20Is, Rahul Tripathi Named In Squad

Hardik Pandya To Lead India In Ireland T20Is, Rahul Tripathi Named In Squad

The BCCI on Wednesday announced the squad of Team India for the next two-match T20I series against Ireland starting from June 26 at Mallhead. The Indian team will be led by Hardik Pandya, while Bhuvneshwar Kumar has been made the vice-captain. Rahul Tripathi has also got a place in the team. Hardik will lead India for the first time, and this is after leading the Gujarat Titans in their first season of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 title. He is currently part of the squad for the ongoing five-match T20I series against South Africa.

The all-rounder led GT from the front during IPL 2022, scoring 487 runs in 15 matches. He also took eight wickets during the tournament, which ended in a victory over Rajasthan Royals in the final.

Meanwhile, Maharashtra batsman Rahul Tripathi has secured his first call-up after being disqualified for the South African T20Is.

Surya Kumar Yadav and Sanju Samson will also return to the team.

Imran Malik, who was included in the Indian squad for the first time for the ongoing series against South Africa, has also been retained in the squad.

India and Ireland will play two T20Is in Dublin on June 26 and June 28, respectively.

India are 1-2 behind South Africa in the five-match series. After losing the first two games, the young Indian team made a strong comeback in the third T20I, which they won by 48 runs at Visakhapatnam on Tuesday.

The fourth and fifth T20s will be played on Friday and Sunday, respectively.

A few big names, including captain Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli, are missing from the squad for the sixth and final Test against England, which will conclude last year’s Test series. The fifth match had to be canceled due to the spread of code in the Indian camp.


The sixth and final Test will be played at Egbiston, Birmingham from 1 to 5 July.

India’s T20I Squad vs Ireland: Hardik Pandya (captain), Bhuvneshwar Kumar (vice-captain), Ishan Kishan, Roturaj Gaikwad, Sanju Samson, Surya Kumar Yadav, Venkatesh Ayyar, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Yuzwinder Chahal, Akshar Patel, , Herschel Patel, Owais Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Imran Malik

Topics covered in this article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.