Neeraj Chopra To Lead India’s 37-Member Athletics Team At Commonwealth Games

Neeraj Chopra To Lead India’s 37-Member Athletics Team At Commonwealth Games

The Athletics Federation of India (AFI) on Thursday named a 37-member Indian athletics team, led by Olympic champion javelin thrower Neeraj Chopra, for the upcoming Commonwealth Games. Without players selected on expected lines. . Of the 37 women selected by the AFI’s selection committee, 18 are women, including star sprinters Hemadas and Dati Chand, who are getting berths through a 4x100m relay team.

The selectors also nominated the men’s 4x400m relay team.

The team also includes Avinash Sable, who recently broke his own national record for the 8000m staplechase for the eighth time, as well as Jyothi Yaraji, who broke his own 100m NR twice twice last month.

It also includes Aishwarya Babu, who broke her own national record for triple jump with a stunning 14.14m effort during the recent National Inter-State Championships in Chennai. However, 200m national record holder Amlan Borgohin, who won the sprint doubles (100m and 200m) during the national interstate, missed out on the bus because he failed to meet the CWG qualifying standards set by the AFI. Despite being selected, some players will have to prove their form and fitness before the Birmingham Games.

Veteran discus thrower Seema Poonia has been given the opportunity to participate in her fifth CWG based on her past performance in sports. However, its participation is subject to meeting the qualifying criteria set by the AFI for the competition in the USA.

Punia has won medals in each of the four previous CWGs.

“Seema Punia’s participation in the CWG will depend on her performance in the United States,” said AFI President Adil Samariwala.

“We have allowed him to train and compete in the USA, given the past results of the CWG and the Asian Games,” he said of Poonia, who won the National Inter-State Senior Championship on June 10-14. Excluded ship which was the qualifying event for CWG selection. .

The men’s javelin throw at the Birmingham Games will feature three Indians, along with DP Mano and Rohit Yadav Chopra. The same goes for the men’s triple jump, with Abdullah Abu Bakar, Parveen Chatterjee and Eldhos Paul making the cut.

“We are asking the Indian Olympic Association to increase its quota and help some of the athletes get accreditation. We have to prove their fitness and form before the games,” said Samariwala. I have also chosen a few subjects for that, “said Samariwala.

The AFI has been given a quota of 36 in the Indian team for the games from July 28 to August 8.

Shot putter Tajinderpal Singh Tor will have to perform well in Kazakhstan, while Amoj Jacob has been selected in the men’s 4x400m relay team depending on his recovery and fitness level.

Jacob pulled his hamstring while running in the final round of the India ‘A’ team during the inter-state championship.

“Similarly, discus throwers Navjit Kaur Dhalon and Seema Intel Punia as well as hammer thrower Sreeta Singh will have to perform in Kazakhstan or California. Race walker Bhawana Jat will have to prove his fitness,” the AFI president said. Said

National record holder high jumper Tejson Shankar, who won the gold medal with a season-best performance of 2.27m at the NCAA Outdoor Track and Field Championships 2022 in the United States last week, was not selected because he won the national berth. Did not participate in state competitions. Nor did he ask for an exception.


Team: Men: Avinash Sable (3000m Staple Chase); Nitinder Rawat (Marathon) M. Sri Shankar and Muhammad Anis Yahya (Long Jump) Abdullah Abu Bakr, Parveen Chatterjee and Eldhos Paul (triple jump); Tajinderpal Singh Tor (Shot Put) Neeraj Chopra, DP Mano and Rohit Yadav (Julien Throw); Sandeep Kumar and Amit Khatri (Race Walking) Amoj Jacob, Noah Nirmal Tom, Arokia Rajiv, Muhammad Ajmal, Nagnathan Pandey and Rajesh Ramesh (4x400m relay).

Women: S Dhanalakshmi (100m and 4x100m relays); Jyothi Yaraji (100m Hurdles) Aishwarya B (Long Jump and Triple Jump) and Ansi Sujan (Long Jump); Manpreet Kaur (shot put); Navjit Kaur Dhalan and Seema Intel Punia (Discus Throw); Anu Rani and Shilpa Rani (Julien Throw) Manju Bala Singh and Sarita Romeet Singh (Hammer Throwing) Bhawana Jat and Priyanka Goswami (Race Walking) Hemadas, Datti Chand, Sarabani Nanda, MV Jalna and NS Sami (4x100m relay).

Topics covered in this article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.