Openers Power Australia To Thumping Win Over Sri Lanka In First T20I

Openers Power Australia To Thumping Win Over Sri Lanka In First T20I

Australian Openers David Warner And Aaron Finch In the first T20 International in Colombo on Tuesday, they scored half-centuries in a stunning 10-wicket win over Sri Lanka. The visitors reached 134-0 in 14 overs, chasing just 129 for victory, after one inning. Josh Hazelwood Spell limited the hosts to 128 in 19.3 overs. Australia, the reigning champions, are warming up for the 2022 T20 World Cup to be held at home later this year. Earlier, in rain-affected Colombo, Australia captain Finch won the toss and elected to bat first.

Warner hit nine fours in his unbeaten 70 off 44 balls while Finch hit 61 not out off 40 balls with four fours and four sixes.

Warner and Finch scored 59 runs in the first six overs and attacked the key bowlers of Sri Lanka. Vanindu will laugh And Mahesh Thakshna.He bowled an over without taking six wickets for 52 runs between the two.

Dashmantha Chamira Gave 48 runs in his four overs for the host team.

Earlier, Josh Hazelwood took three wickets in the 14th over and triggered the devastation of middle order batting in the first match of the three T20s.

The fast bowler in form scored a brilliant 4-16 in his four overs and took wickets. Danoshka Ganathilaka (26) Kosal Mendes (1), Bhanuka Raja Pakse (0) and Captain داسن شاناکا (0).

Hazelwood was well supported by his new ball teammate. Mitchell Stark Which removed the opener. پتھم نسانکا To end the hosts’ lower order 3-26 in their four hard overs before scoring 36 off 31 balls.

Sri Lanka’s top three batsmen gave the hosts a solid start and took the team to 100 for two in the first 12 overs.

None of the top three – Nissanka, Ganathilaka and Fourth Asalanka – Were able to stay around in the final overs.

Starc bowled Hasranga, who tried to lead a low-level fightback with 17 off 15 balls, as well as Chamira (1).


The hosts also lost Aslanka and Chamika Kronartne on the run-out and were bowled out for three balls in their allotted 20 overs.

Australia are also playing five ODIs and two Tests during their tour of Sri Lanka, which ends on July 12.

Topics covered in this article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.