Pakistan vs West Indies, 2nd ODI: Pakistan Penalised 5 Runs For Babar Azam’s Bizarre “Blunder”

Pakistan vs West Indies, 2nd ODI: Pakistan Penalised 5 Runs For Babar Azam’s Bizarre “Blunder”

Babar Azam was seen picking up one of the wicket-keeping gloves.AFP

Pakistani captain Babar Azam In the three-match ODI series against the West Indies in Multan, the hosts were unbeaten 2-0 and recorded the ninth consecutive fifty-plus score in all formats. Babar, who scored the winning century in the first ODI, scored 77 off 93 balls with the help of five fours and a six. However, he paid his team five runs on the field after a strange turn of events during the West Indies chase. In the 29th over, Babar was seen lifting one of the wicket-keeping gloves, and used it to lift the ball behind the stumps.

Why Pakistan was given a five-run penalty against West Indies?

Babar’s action was declared illegal by the field umpire and resulted in an additional five extra runs in the West Indies total.

According to the rules of cricket – 28.1 Protective equipment – “No fielder other than the wicket-keeper shall be permitted to wear gloves or outdoor league guards. In addition, hand or finger protection may be worn only with the consent of the umpire”.

However, the incident did not have a serious impact on the outcome of the match as Pakistan won the second ODI by a margin of 120 runs.

After choosing to bat, Pakistan scored 275 for eight with the help of Babar’s 77 and opener. Imam-ul-Haq72-run innings

Promoted.

In reply, West Indies continued to lose wickets intermittently and were eventually bowled out for 155 runs.

The third and final ODI will be played at the same venue on Sunday, June 12.

Topics covered in this article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.