Rohit Sharma To Lead in India In T20I Series vs West Indies, Virat Kohli Not Named

Rohit Sharma To Lead in India In T20I Series vs West Indies, Virat Kohli Not Named

The All India Senior Selection Committee on Thursday announced the squad for the upcoming five-match T20I series against the West Indies. Rohit Sharma will lead the team while Virat Kohli and Jaspreet Bumrah are not in the team. KL Rahul has returned to the team. However, their participation is subject to fitness. Veteran spinner Ravi Chandran Ashwin has also been recalled while league spinner Yuzwinder Chahal has not been included in the squad. News agency PTI has reported that both Kohli and Bamrah have been rested for the series, though there was no mention of it in the BCCI’s release and tweet.

Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Surya Kumar Yadav, Shriyas Ayre, and Ishan Kishan are all part of the T20I squad for the upcoming series against the West Indies. The five-match T20 series against the West Indies starts on July 29, but will be preceded by three ODIs starting on July 22.

Kuldeep Yadav has also been included in the team but his inclusion is also conditional on fitness.

Earlier, the squad for the ODI series against the West Indies was announced and Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Rishbha Pant and Jaspreet Bumrah were rested. Imran Malik is not part of the squad while Arshdeep Singh is part of the squad.

All eyes will be on the performances of youngsters Deepak Hooda, Owais Khan and Arshdeep Singh, who will do so based on the opportunities they get, as the players make their place in the squad for the ICC T20 World Cup to be played in Australia. Let’s try to claim. October to November.

KL Rahul’s comeback from injury will be important as India will try to seal their top order positions.

Kohli has been struggling for form late and could not play in India’s first ODI against England due to a back injury. His participation in the second ODI today is also doubtful due to injury.


Rohit Sharma (captain), Ishan Kishan, KL Rahul *, Surya Kumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Shriyas Air, Dinesh Karthik, Rishbha Pant, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Akshar Patel, R Ashwin, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav *, Bhubaneswar Kumar Owais Khan, Herschel Patel, Arshdeep Singh.

Topics covered in this article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.