SL vs AUS: Australia Announce Playing XI For 1st T20I vs Sri Lanka

SL vs AUS: Australia Announce Playing XI For 1st T20I vs Sri Lanka

Australia’s big guns returned to the squad on Tuesday, announcing the XI for the inaugural Twenty20 International (T20I) against Sri Lanka at the R. Primadasa Stadium in Colombo. Mitchell Marsh, David Warner, Glenn Maxwell And Steve Smith did not play the recent T20I matches at home against Sri Lanka in February and the only T20I match against Pakistan in Lahore in April but he was back in the playing XI for the first T20I. Speaking of team structure, Australia’s limited overs captain Aaron Finch He said that he was tempted to play two spinners but due to rain in the last two days he decided to play with three fast bowlers.

“There was a temptation (to play two spinners) but looking at the conditions over the last two days, the square is quite green, it’s raining a lot and the outfield is very heavy,” Finch said. As stated by on Monday.

“There’s a bit of a spin expected but it can be a difficult kind of spin. It’s not a dry square, it’s not a dry surface by any means.

“There hasn’t been a lot of cricket here and because of the wet weather, the wickets cover much more than they normally do.

“If Sri Lanka had been their preference, it would have been on land. But they have the (excellent) Chamira-led fast bowling attack of the last two years.”


The first two T20Is will be played at Primadasa while the last T20I will be played at Pallekele International Cricket Stadium. The three-match T20I series will be followed by a series of five ODIs and two Tests.

Australia playing XI for first T20I against Sri Lanka: Aaron Finch, David Warner, Mitch Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Steve Smith, Marcus Stevens, Matthew Wade (Saturday), Ashton Agar, Mitchell Stark, Ken Richardson, Josh Hazelwood.

Topics covered in this article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.